Day 28-No one likes us, we dont care
This is part of an English football team's chant, but that's pretty much the sentiment in the part of Bavaria that we experienced.
We stayed for 4 days with a nice family, but even they seemed to deem it necessary to tell us how awful the US is, in regards to our president, our foreign affairs, our environmental concerns, and our "lacking" education system. We appreciate differing opinions, but after being force fed with this opinion for the umpteenth time, its hard to swallow-especially when none of the people saying this have ever visited the US.
Rant complete, as far as my blog goes. I have much more to say about this if you're interested another time.
Today the Pinakothek der Moderne (modern art museum) in Munich was spectacular. We didnt make it to the old or new art museums, but this one was enough to whet my appetite for more modern art. Beuys, Magritte, Dali, Kandinsky, and Boccioni are some of my favorites (google them!) but it I have to admit it was pretty pride-inspiring to see an entire room full of Andy Warhols, being from Pittsburgh and all.
Besides that, we arrived in Vienna (Wien) tonight and are having a good first hour. The hostel is decent and cheap (15 Euro a night) and the people have been friendly. We plan on going to an opera tomorrow night (standing room only) if we can get tickets at the Staatsoper (Vienna state opera house). This came highly recommended to me and I am really looking forward to it.

1 Comments:
Hi Leslie, It sounds like you are having a wonderful once in a lifetimeexperience. Bet you never thougth getting all wet would be so much fun. We are looking forward to seeing and hearing more about your trip when you come home.
Love,
Aunt Barb & Uncle Brent
Post a Comment
<< Home